How do you capture stray kittens?

There are at least three litters of stray kittens roaming around my neighborhood. It's sad to see that no one is doing anything about it, so I'm deciding to take action. I am planning to get a hold of them so I can to foster them temporarily. I have some experience in taking care of kittens, considering I have done it with five other cats in the past.

The question is, how do I get a hold of them? They ALL are afraid of people so they make a run for it when someone approached them.

A litter of Calico's are usually hanging out in my neighbor's yard across the street.

Another litter never seems to be together. I always see gray kittens around the neighborhood hiding.

The last litter are giving my next door neighbor a pain in the butt. He said they are getting into his backyard and fish in his pond.

I want to take care a some kittens until they are ready to be found a home. Because I find it unfair that these cats are growing up as strays; homeless and afraid. These cats may not survive how they are living now. I already have two older cats at my house but I have an extra room the kittens can stay in.

And one more question! Should I try to get one whole litter or just any random cat I can get a hold of? Please no rude answers like, "Just kill them!" etc.

Sorry for this being so long...

Comments

• i would try to approach them with food such as lunch meat or a bowl of milk i would speak in a friendly voice "her kitty" and kneel down to appear less of a threat. i caught my kitten like that he was abandoned in a bush and i got him to come out with the lunch meat, he is still here with me and is almost a year now! im so glad u are doing this you are saving their lives its hard out with traffic and dogs etc.

if this doesn't work i would look up cage traps maybe?

good luck!!

• Those kittens are feral(wild) now and will be very difficult to capture and tame.