Is Pluto A Planet? "PROOF NEEDED"?

THIS IS FOR MY science debate. i am a pro. but i can go both ways. so give me your answers with citations, facts, details, and also suggestions. :) THANKS

Comments

• Previous answers are right that there are now three parts of the planet definition. When it was classified as a planet, the Kuiper Belt wasn't well understood and nothing large other than Pluto was found there.

with the discovery of other Kuiper Belt or trans-Neptunian objects, the new definition was needed. Agree with it or not, we now use that definition.

First, the mass has to be large enough to be spherical. Pluto fits that.

Second, it has to have its own orbit around the Sun, not another planet (like Titan, Callisto, or Ganymede). Pluto fit that.

Third, the object has to have enough mass to clear its orbit, meaning either ejecting or gathering objects that shard its orbit. For example Jupiter groups asteroids along its orbit into clumps or ejects them. Pluto does NOT do that, so it's a dwarf planet.

Dwarf planet was a made up term to keep Pluto near the planetary status. Other objects classified as dwarf planets are Ceres (meets #1 and #2), Eris (meets #1 and #2 and is LARGER than Pluto), and Makemake (just classified).

• Pluto used to be a planet, but now, it's nothing more than a dwarf planet. It's because of its unusual orbit. It does not orbit the sun as a "planet" should. Its orbit is highly inclined, and sometimes Neptune gets beyond Pluto.