Mattress pad for a dorm room?

I'm staying in a residence hall next year. I know i'll need some type of cover for the mattress, but I'm wondering if I should invest in a nice comfy mattress pad. I also don't want to spend a fortune either (i am a college student after all :) ) Does anyone have experience or any help on how important these are? Thank you!

Comments

• This is an area to spend a little money on. The cheapest options are egg crate type foam (they aren't terribly supportive but are nice if you stack 2 or 3) or quilted toppers (they don't do a thing). Memory foam and thicker foam pads are mid priced and can be nice. More expensive are down, fake down, and fluffy wool. Make sure to look outside the "college stuff" sections and a twin or a full size mattress pad will fit on Twin XL beds. Mattress pads are squishy and it won't slide once you get sheets over it.

Look for sales and use coupons, mine is from Bed Bath Beyond, is down and I paid $70 for it. It's the best mattress pad out of all my friends. I got a full so I could still use it on my bed at home.

• This Site Might Help You.

RE:

Mattress pad for a dorm room?

I'm staying in a residence hall next year. I know i'll need some type of cover for the mattress, but I'm wondering if I should invest in a nice comfy mattress pad. I also don't want to spend a fortune either (i am a college student after all :) ) Does anyone have experience or any...

• Good Gracious, you need a mattress pad! Those mattresses they have in dorms are the same ones used in prison (no joke).

I would definitely invest in (at the very very least) a $10 egg crate pad. Unfortunately, dorm beds are classified as extra-long twin size beds and companies don't really make mattress pads to fit that. So you will have to buy a queen size egg crate pad and cut it.