Do i need a passport book or card or both??!!?!?

Im going to mexico this summer and do not have a passport as this is my first time going out of the country. i started applying for one online and am not sure if i need a passport booklet or a passport card or both of them. right now i have neither.. im not flying into the country though, im flying to california and staying there and driving to mexico to visit for a few days. thanks!!

Comments

• in order to go to mexico (driving) you need either the book or the card... not both. some ppl get both, just in case. i would recommend whatever works best for what you predict your travel will be like.

both don't expire for 10 years... so you have to think about where you plan to go in the next ten years

personally, i got the book because i plan on flying to europe within the next ten years and can also use it to go to mexico/canada. since i have the book, i won't need to card

the card is nice b/c it can fit in your wallet, but that's about it... it would be the cheaper thing to get if you only planned on traveling to mexico by driving only

• You can use either the passport card or the book form for the specific trip you're looking at, but I would get the passport book since it allows you to do a lot more. The passport card can't be used for all international travel; it's more of a convenience for people that do a lot of land border crossings with Mexico or Canada.