How do you become a good programmer?

I'm an aspiring game programmer and I just started writing my first program with the help of a tutorial of course. But as I was blindly copying the code on screen, I wondered. How do people do this?!?!? Seriously. Do you have to memorize all these codes? Do you look the codes you need and their functions you need in a book? How do you do it? I know everyone learns differently but if you can tell me how you did it then maybe I can find a way that works for me. Thanks.

Comments

• It takes lots and lots of practice to become a good programmer, I'm talking 1000's of hours over many years. Following a tutorial gives you an understanding of programming and but really only improves your skills on following instructions not your ability to code.

What I did at the start was go line by line trying to figure out what it actually does and make a few modifications here and there in the process to better help figure out how it works. I failed so badly when I first started to program on my own, and by that I mean getting a project/problem and writing it from scratch, line by line character by character via Notepad. I often had to go back to my books or google to figure out what to do based on what people have done already. If I found a solution on the net or in a book, rather then copy and paste, I would write it out myself and just keep modifying until, one it worked and two, that I understood how it worked, that's something I would STRONGLY recommend new coders to do, or else you'll never really learn.

To this day I still look up google for seemingly simple things like creating a switch statement, I don't remember every single data type or their function's, usually I have to google it to jog my memory but that's also part of being a programmer if you can't figure out a problem chances are someone else has and you need to be able to find it on the internet as well.