how do i persuade my parents?

For about 4 years now, I've been desperate to get a bunny. I've thought it through so much and I've borrowed 2 books from the library on how to care for one. I don't beg, and I only ask my parents when they're in a good mood. I've thought about cost (I have saved up and I have come up with a deal that I will pay three quarters of the money), space, breeds, feeding etc (everything I could possibly think of!) I've even shown my parents a PowerPoint presentation. My parents agree that looking after one is not a problem but they are concerned about my behaviour. They keep saying, 'We don't want to reward you, when you don't care about us!'. I try so hard when it comes to behaviour. I've been doing chores around the house now for 3 years solid. I've asked them what they expect of me and I've been trying my very best. I talk to them politely and I take good care of them. I've told them this but they just ignore me. It kills me how much I want one but I'm trying hard not to let it show too much. What should I do? Any suggestions will be much appreciated! thanks!

Update:

I've already cared for a pet goldfish and I did that responsibly. My friend who has got a bunny, told my family all about money and pet insurance etc so we're pretty confident we've got that sorted! Also, I'm old enough to get one without my parent's permission but I think that would be disloyal.One half of me tells me that they're being reluctant due to the fact that they're not impressed with my behaviour but the other half tells me that they can't be bothered. I don't want to wait until I've moved out, though, because I'll probably be really busy with work and stuff. I treat my parents with a lot of respect. I work really hard. I do constant revision as well as house work and I get really high grades. I'm really upset that they won't listen to my desires but I don't want to come across as a spoilt child.

Comments