Do you think I am depressed?

I'm a senior in high school and I have a few issues. For two weeks or so at a time I'll feel normal, like happy and things. But then for about a week I'll start feeling suicidal, and I'll feel like I'm worthless and that I have no purpose in the world. I'll also feel like the world would be a better or unchanged place if I was gone. I'm also obsessive about checking if my doors locked, and it really pisses me off when i HAVE to check if my doors locked like 5 times before I'm satisfied that it's locked. I don't want to go to a doctor because if I get diagnosed they might put me on pills and my dad died from a combination of pills, so I don't trust the medication that doctors give me. I've "self-medicated" for three years now, and I'm trying to get off my "medication" so I can be more productive and have more of a chance to get a job.

So what are your opinions/suggestions?

Comments

• I am no doctor, but I was diagnosed as having mild depression when I was younger (14-15), and now I am 18, and in my first year of college. However, I do know that the behavior you are describing is similar to Bipolar syndrome, which is where you have extreme highs and lows in mood, often unpredictable. I know how it feels to be depressed, where that worthless awful sad feeling washes over you. Just remember that you DO have many good things going for you, even if they are impossible to see when you are in that depressed state. The other behavior you have described sounds, to me, (again, I'm no doctor), uncharacteristic of Bipolar syndrome. Though Bipolar will definitely make you have random obsessions with things. If you've ever been incredibly interested and obsessed with something for a week, and then have no interest in it at all, you may be Bipolar. If you have great trouble in social situations, and are often socially awkward or don't know what to say to people, then you may be Bipolar. Depression is a symptom of Bipolar. It is somewhat alarming to