teachers do you respect subs?

Teachers do you respect subs? I work as a sub right now, I dont get much respect for the kids in the class. They talk not listen and they don't care what I say. Everytime that happens I tell the teacher about the behavior problems. do you do something when you see a bad note from a sub?? or do you just called as a dumb person who could never become a teacher that why they are subs

Comments

• Hi,

I expect my kids to treat any substitute the same way that they treat me. I have been able, so far, to know in advance when I will need a substitute, so I tell my kids that they are going to have one and set out my expectations. On the board, I let them know that they are to do what they are told and if I receive a bad report, the offending student(s) will receive a 30 minute detention. Further, the offending student(s) will receive a zero for the day the substitute was in. Substitutes are undermined all the time because students don't expect them to know what is going on. My substitutes are given precise instructions on what to do, what excuses they might receive from certain students, a couple of students from each hour who are trustworthy, honest, and kind if they need anything, and are provided with multiple forms and things that they might need. I think it just depends on the teacher on what is done if bad behavior occurs in the classroom when there is a substitute. I don't let my students get away with it. I know that a lot of the other teachers at my school are the same way. There are many reasons why people substitute-just need a part-time job, like to teach but don't want to do it full-time, they are students looking to make some extra money, retiree's supplementing their income, and so on.

Good luck to you and I hope this answers your question. B:)