ughh low self-esteem issue? please help :(?

I'm a sophomore,ever since school started this year I've been trying to look my best but no matter what I end up comparing myself to all the pretty girls in my classes cause I don't look like them. I'm short and wide so everything about me seems stubby. and theres a guy that I like and he seems to kind of like me but he also talks to the pretty girls and i feel like i have nothing to offer because I'm too shy and I come off as a b*tch sometimes and it makes me feel horrible, i feel like crying sometimes. I really just want to become a better person but how?

Comments

• Low self-esteem is just a bunch of crap. It's like running a race, and you choose to run the race uphill while everyone else runs it downhill. It makes no sense and you'd do 5000 times better if you ran it downhill.

Just be a friendly person. Take pride in your appearance. Take care of your body (eat right and exercise.) Every time you think something negative, say two positive comments. And always think positive about yourself and others. And if the guy likes another girl, so what? Move on. He isn't the only male left in the world. Don't be a super clingy girl that crushes on him, but act like a good friend and he'd be more likely to like you. But if he doesn't, then accept him as a good friend and move on (I got this exact comment from a guy friend today about a mutual female friend).

And I know a lot of girls that aren't super thin or go tanning or have perfect hair and nails that have gotten really good boyfriends that are sweet and kind and fun. They may not be football jocks, but they're all around great guys. And they got them because of their personalities. Be yourself and be fun and be nice.