Parelli Natural Horsemanship?

I was thinking of taking up Natural Horsemanship, even though my schedule is pretty busy. Before I make the effort, does anyone think this would be a bad choice? I'm pretty interested in it, it seems fun for both horse and rider.

Has anyone had any experience with Parelli, or other Natural Horsemanship? Thanks!

Update:

--Thanks. I probably should've mentioned that we have a Parelli Level 3 trainer at the barn. I've been watching her and sort of get the gist of it, so I wouldn't be a total beginner. I was just wondering if I should really start getting into it, y'know?

About a professional doing it, you might be right for the basic beginning. But, I think it's better to learn with the horse and strengthen the bond, rather than have someone else teach your horse.

Thanks though, I'll take your answer into consideration.

Comments

• My opinion - bad idea! It's like a cult, they take your money, they sell you articles for extortionate amounts of cash claiming that life is over without them and then they teach you that all non-believers of their methods are cruel and inhumane and have no idea how to ride and train.

I think it's all just a big money making scam that leaves both horse and rider confused and it some cases, it lulls people into a false sense of security which can be very dangerous. It should also be noted that there are no top competition horses that have been trained that way - that says a lot to me. Keep your cash and find a good trainer to work with you and your horse.