How do you Color Splash a picture?

I really want to color splash on photobucket or something.

like i want it to look perfect,like the professional pictures.

if u go on photo bucket,there r color splash pics & they look great!

how do i do that & make it look perfect?

Comments

• I dsagree with VanGorkum ... I do it because clients like it and in the end, as a professional photographer, I want my clients to be happy.

Of course I work in the cliche world of Wedding photography but we all gotta pay the bills. :)

Now, as for how to do it. Well if you would have searched YA instead of asking, you would have found 1084 results.

I use photoshop (or theGimp on my netbook when on the field).

Import image, duplicate layer, turn new layer into BW, add a layer mask to bw layer.

Now go to the layer mask, you;ll notice you can only choose black, white and grey for your colors. That's because anything covered in white on the mask, appears, while anything in black disappears and grey offers different levels of transparency.

Let's say you want colored lips, then cover the lips in black in the mask. this will make the BW lips disappear, revealing the colored lips underneath.

Congratz!

In the future, please search before asking. I've already stopped answering the (what;'s the best camera to start) questions and I think I'll stop with these as well as we get them 4-5 times a day.

• It is actually called Selective (or partial) desaturation

(it is NOT colourizing or colouring - that is a totally different technique used on b&w images).

1. Duplicate your background layer.

2. Desaturate that layer (i.e. make it b&w).