Regular or Premium?

I have a 1991 Acura Legend that recommends premium gas (91 or higher)

I know that I will get worse power and "pinging" might result if I put 87 in it, but what I want to know is does my car have a ECU to retard the timing.

Thanks!

Update:

ANOTHER THING!!!!!

I need to keep this car for exactly 2 years! It is a must!

Also, I am a very calm driver!

I never rev. over 2500 rpms! NEVER!

Oh yeah, Another thing, I am very cheap.

Comments

• Aaaargh !!! What a lot of answers by people who don't know what they are talking about.

The purpose of octane is to allow increased compression ratios at high RPM and full throttle. ALL OF THIS together at the same time - which is why racing engines require high octane.

At low RPM, part throttle conditions a much lower octane suffices. Even a high compression engine driven at low throttle settings will run just fine on lower octane fuels. My 10.5 compression big-block runs on 85 octane at altitude with NO problems !!!

Lower octane fuels actually have MORE energy density, and will provide better mileage. An extreme example of this is diesel fuel which has about 15% more energy per gallon than does gasoline (it just won't burn steadily in a standard gasoline engine so don't try to fuel up with it).

High octane fuels have less energy - wait till you see your 50% or more fuel mileage drop using E85 (ethanol) which has a very high octane rating.

As to deposits, all fuels of one company carry the same detergents and thus help reduce normal aging deposits.

Your ECU will retard the timing as required - it's actually not the ECU itself, but having a knock sensor - which your car does have.

• so many thumbs down on such good advice.

And what a full up themselves person above.Say what you like but i have had Japanese cars for years.

And that might be some facts but me bouncing around a car park with the low octane fuel told me to but high ron in.