Assistant Manager at a restaurant?

I am applying for this assistant managers position at this high end Italian restaurant.

I graduated college in 2009 and I am sick and tired of waiting tables. The art career is pretty not going to happen, as I not realize that art is something you pursue after you have a stable career.

Anyway, assistant managing seems like the next logical career advancement for me. I have been studying hard for my interview on Wednesday. Trying to come up with the most analytical answers humanly possible, as I really want this career boost. I just turned 31 last week and I am really sick and tired of waiting tables, I almost feel like my investment was a waste of money, as going to an art school put me in the hole almost 100K :( I DID learn a lot, but to spend that much and be doing the same exact thing I was doing before college was sort of an unnecessary expense that I really couldn't afford... looking back..

Let me know what you think of some of my answers..

TELL ME ABOUT YOURSELF:

I have worked in the industry for over 12 years beginning in 1999 as a dishwasher at Black Bear Lodge and Saloon. From there it was a steady progression to salad chef, prep, line and broiler. Then I made a transition to FOH similarly progressing from hostessing, cocktailing, serving, bartending, bottles service and even banquets. I want to develop my career and this position is the next logical advancement.

In 2009 I earned a BFA from the Illinois Institute of Art - Chicago which I completed in 3.2 years with honors.

I am meticulous, strong minded, creative and competent.

WHAT CAN YOU OFFER US:

An honest, punctual, trustworthy leader that has comprehensive experience, academics and courage to take risks in order to gain personal and professional development.

These are just a few highlights I wanted to mention, what does anyone think?

Update:

*as I NOW realize that art is something you pursue after you have a stable career.

Comments