Problem w/ 1099 Misc - $999 self employment tax?

In 2009 I worked as a part time employee and was paid gross by personal check. The company filed these wages as a 1099 Misc. I did not file this with the IRS (i know, I messed up) and recently got a letter for unpaid taxes, including a $999 self-employment tax. I have no problem paying my share of taxes, but how do I get out of this self-employment tax, since I was very clearly an employee, and NOT an independent contractor. Please help!

Comments

• 1. File a Form SS-8 http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fss8.pdf with the IRS to get a formal ruling on your status.

2. Prepare a Form 8919 with the IRS in response to the CP2000 notice. Mark reason code 'G' in column c.

3. To stop the accrual of penalties and interest (in case the IRS determines that you are an independent contractor after all) pay the tax NOW. Enclose your check for payment in full along with the 8919 and a short note explaining that you believe that you were misclassified as an independent contractor and should be treated as an employee. Attach a copy of the SS-8 to your note. Send the package to the address on the CP2000 notice.

If the IRS agrees with your position that you were an employee, they will refund the excess tax paid.

Arguably you could also just pay the total on the CP2000 notice, file the SS-8, and then file an amended return on Form 1040-X showing the income as an increase on line 7 of Form 1040 and attach the 8919 to the 1040-X to calculate your share of the FICA taxes. The end result will be the same.

• File Form SS-8. The government will evaluate the Form SS-8 and decide if you were really an employer or an independent contractor. They nearly always decide the person was an employee and do not require payment of the self-employment tax.

• So, they treated you as a contactor, yet you believe you were an employee.

The difference is that contractors pay 100% of fica/mc and employees only pay half.