Colleges near Oklahoma City?

PLEASE READ WHOLE DESCRIPTION!!!

So, my name is Summer and I'm a sophomore in high school living in Tucson, AZ. I've been thinking of going to the U of A because it's a great school, conveniently close, it's cheaper because I'm an Arizona resident, and I want to major in special ed (they have a great special ed program).

The thing is, my long-distance girlfriend who means more to me than life itself lives in Oklahoma City. I know it's EXTREMELY unlikely, but is there any chance that there is a more convenient for me college around there?

A few more things:

-I could live with my girlfriend so housing is not a problem

-My parents are both lower middle class

-I don't have a college savings account that I know of

-My grandparents on both sides are middle class and would definitely help pay for college

-I'm extremely smart and have very good grades

Thank you sooooo much!!

Comments

• The University of Oklahoma is about 20 miles south of Oklahoma City.

But it won't be "more convenient" than University of Arizona, and it's likely to cost you a lot more. Out-of-state tuition is $24+K at University of Oklahoma, versus instate tuition of $11+K at Arizona. Plus you are far more likely to get scholarships in-state at UA than OU.

You couldn't live with your girlfriend for the first year, at least: OU requires freshment to live on-campus. Also, you never know what will happen in future years so you can't really rely on a friend's parents for housing.

Also, if you've lived in Arizona your whole life, it's unlikely you'll be happy with the weather in Oklahoma. And living 20 miles away (or more, if your friend lives on the north side of town) will make it difficult or impossible to get to class during ice storms, etc.