how do I insert a HTML code into my site?

I am new to this. Please explain in layman terms

Comments

• you are saying you are new but saying my site... hamma how you did that site man without knowing html. the general tags for a html file is

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

<html>

<head>

<title>Untitled Document</title>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

</head>

<body>

</body>

</html>

write what you want inside the body and save it as x.html thats it

or visit w3schools to know more

• There are some really great sites that will give you lots of information about HTML... when I first learned this I used www.htmlgoodies.com though this was years ago so I have no idea how the site is now.

Anyway, I'm assuming that you already have a domain name (in other words, you've already purchased something like www.yoursitename.com) and that you have somewhere to host the site (you need someone to "host" the website by having a computer which is always on and connected to the internet which is linked up to the domain name I mentioned above). That stuff might be a bit confusing, and if so you need to figure that out before you can mess with HTML. If you DO have web space, then you can write some HTML.

When somebody goes to your site, their computer looks for a file called "index.html" which contains the information (i.e. HTML) to be displayed. So first, open up a text editor like notepad where you can write your HTML. Don't use a program like Microsoft Word that has fonts and text sizes, etc. because the files you create with these programs contain extra information in addition to the words you type on the screen that mess things up here.

Once you have notepad (or whatever text editor you've chosen) open, type this:

---------------------

<html>

Hello World!!

</html>

----------------------