Dog greets excessively.?

hello, i have just gotten a foster dog that is a shar pei//vizsla mix. He is about 2 and was a stray in a kill shelter that was saved my a rescue about 2 weeks ago. Its my first time fostering, and im really happy to because this guy is really handsome and sweet. He's very playful and can be calm at times... He can be stubborn and needs training. My issue is his excessive greeting when ever my husband comes in, or if we all come back, or if its morning and he's seeing us for the first time. He jumps at us, playfully bites, jumps all the way up...His tail wagging the entire time.

He is intensely saying hi for a long 5 mins. Its too much, especially for my husband since he goes in and out in the early mornings... plus hes 50 pounds and his claws hurt when he slams them down on us. I have been holding him still so he can calm down... kind of a bear hug. he kinda calms down. after his the craziness he calms down and is normal again. He may have separation anxiety. ( not too bad though) he whines when my husband leaves.

What can i do? how long will it last. I think he was lost and found and taken in as a stray. Hes just been neutered and is on meds. Hes a great dog... this little issue is driving me insane. help?

Update:

http://on.fb.me/1eZr6Oh heres a pic him.

Comments

• How wonderful of you to help rescue a dog in need. I understand your problem and think I can offer some tips to help.

Dogs do what works. So it might be useful to teach this dog to 'sit' before giving it any attention. Teach the sit command when you are already at ease in the home. You can offer your dog a treat while working on teaching the sit command, but only give the treat after the dog is sitting calmly. If you and your husband practice this when the dog is not greeting you at the door, the dog will learn that until he sits calmly no treats or attention will be given. Then at greeting time you can give the same 'sit' command.