is a piano a string instrument?

me and my friends where debating on how a piano is not a sting instrument and i said it isn't and my friends said it is so whats your opinion

Comments

• I'm a Pianist, and I do not consider the Piano a Stringed Instrument, because: You can not touch the Strings. O do not consider a percurssion Instrumente either. I prefer out it In the Family if the Keyboards, with the Hapischord, and the Great Organ.

The Orchestral Stringed Instruments are: The Violin, the Viola Dell'arco, the Cello, the Coouterbass, and the Harp. You can TOUCH the strings.

• It is a Keyboard Instrument

Keyboard instruments are there own Family of Musical instruments

they consist of Celestas, Claviers, Harpsichord and much more!

Some people place the piano in the percussion family due to the little hammers that hit the string

and some people place it in the Strings family due to the strings it s made up of

Although as much as those 2 examples sound interesting.

The Piano is NOT a String Instrument, it DOES HAVE STRINGS

But it is in its own family

• Piano is technically a Percussion instrument: a little known fact. Although there are strings inside it, when playing the instrument, the player does not create the sounds themselves, but rather causes small hammers to hit the strings and make the sound, thus making it a percussion instrument rather than a stringed instrument such as a violin.

• It has strings but it's more often classified as a percussion instrument because hammers inside the piano hit the strings. When someone talks about learning a string instrument they don't mean piano.

• Yes.