Low Self Esteem?

How can I improve my self esteem? I'm bright, young, good looking etc But I've just started a Masters in a subject I have no experience in (which i have to do as my 1st degree was academic and not practical) which makes me feel worse off than course mates, my g/f and i have had to start a long distance r'ship and we're very uncertain of how long we're gonna be apart, i'm recovering from alcoholism so have had to distance myself from all my heavy drinking mates etc All this stuff's just brought on a load of self-pity and 'poor me' and all that rubbish. I know that but i can't shake it off! Any suggestions would be very welcome! Thanks

Comments

• This is surely a common type to have an adjustment disorder. Lots of changes all at once. You are to be commended on stopping your alcohol use. Don't let stress or loneliness lead you back to using it. That should be VERY high on your priority list. Are you satisfied with your course of study/career choice? That's something you can change if it comes to that. Try to make friends. Also strive to avoid poor grades as this will have a negative effect on your self-esteem. If you have free time, try not to spend it all alone. Is there a student hangout, or student center? There's a place to make friends. Also the cafeteria, the TV lounge, a games room, etc. It will just happen.

If this self-pity situation lasts very long, reassess your situation, and consider seeing a physician. They can help with non-addictive medications. Be sure to tell the doctor of your alcohol history.

I am praying for you. You have much adaptation ahead of you. While I'm sure you are up to the task, you need to be sure as well. May God bless you richly.